The DuPage Medical Society Foundation

The DuPage Medical Society Foundation is a non-profit organization established to promote the education, health and well-being of DuPage County residents. The Foundation strives to meet this mission by providing scholarship grants to health care students from DuPage County.

In 1964, the DuPage County Medical Society, Pharmaceutical Association and Health Department combined forces to carry out an oral polio vaccination program to provide the population of DuPage County with protection against polio. Donations of $ .50 per dose were requested in order to meet expenses of the program. All personnel served without pay on a voluntary basis, physicians, pharmacists, the entire staff of the health department and hundreds of public-spirited citizens.

The program was a great success. So great, in fact, that approximately $50,000 was realized after all expenses were met. Since profit had not been the motive for the program, no plans had been made for the use of such a sum. From these beginnings, the DuPage Medical Society Foundation was formed.

To date, the Foundation has awarded more than $360,000 in student scholarships and in grants to community organizations serving DuPage County.

To be eligible for a scholarship grant from the Foundation, students must be enrolled in or accepted for admission to a professional education or training program before applying, and they must exhibit a strong academic background in addition to financial need. Students in prerequisite and undergraduate curriculums (i.e. pre-med) are not eligible for these scholarships. The number of scholarships granted varies each year. The average amount of each scholarship is $1000.

To learn more about the Foundation and/or its beneficiaries, to request a scholarship application, or to make a tax-deductible charitable contribution, you can e-mail the Foundation office at, call 630.681.2870 or write to: The DuPage Medical Society Foundation, 1131 Wheaton Oaks Court West, Wheaton, Illinois, 60187.

To download the application click on the following link: 


Note: applications are accepted only between January 1 and April 30!